

ERNEST H. BALL and FRAYDA S. BLUESTEIN AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN MUNICIPAL LAW

The Award for Excellence in Municipal Law was established in 1991 by the Past Presidents Group of the North Carolina Association of Municipal Attorneys. Originally known as the Distinguished Service Award, in 1994 it was renamed in honor of Ernest H. Ball, former General Counsel of the North Carolina League of Municipalities.

On August 7, 2021, by a unanimous vote of the membership, the award was renamed the Ernest H. Ball and Frayda S. Bluestein Award for Excellence to honor Frayda Bluestein in advance of her retirement from the UNC School of Government.

Now nicknamed the "Ball-Bluestein Award," this award is intended to recognize persons who have made valuable contributions to the field of municipal law, whether through a single accomplishment or through an entire career. This award is to be given on the basis of achievement and not merely to honor an individual. A nominee does not have to be an attorney, and the Award is not necessarily intended to be presented annually, as the Association reserves the right not to make a presentation in any given year.

Nominations may be made to Jennifer Schneier, General Counsel of the League of Municipalities, who will present the nomination to the Board of Directors for approval. Nominations should include background information or supporting materials such as a letter of recommendation. Upon approval by the Board of Directors, the recipient will receive the award at the summer conference.

Past recipients:

1991	Philip P. Green Jr.	UNC School of Government
1992	David M. Lawrence	UNC School of Government
1992	Jesse L. (Skip) Warren	Greensboro
1993	Claude V. Jones	Durham
1993	Henry W. Underhill Jr.	Charlotte
1994	Warren J. (Jake) Wicker	UNC School of Government
1995	Louis B. Meyer	NC Supreme Court
1996	Roddey M. Ligon Jr.	Womble Carlyle Sandridge & Rice
1997	William I. Thornton Jr.	Durham
2001	William A. Campbell	UNC School of Government

2003	Judith Welch Wegner	UNC School of Law
2006	Gerry F. Cohen	NC General Assembly Bill Drafting
2010	DeWitt F. (Mac) McCarley	Charlotte
2014	Henry D. Blinder	Durham
2016	Frayda S. Bluestein	UNC School of Government
2017	Francis P. (Razz) Rasberry Jr.	Raleigh
2019	Kimberly S. Hibbard	NC League of Municipalities
2019	Robert E. Hagemann	Charlotte
2023	Anthony Fox	Parker Poe
2023	Chris Simpson	Cary
2024	Angela I. Carmon	Winston-Salem